h1

25 Things you don’t need to know about me

July 23, 2007

This is a result of Tami’s creative post idea. I will make sure Cristina goes next:

  1.  I really want to try doing stand-up comedy but I am too scared.
  2. My parents are deaf but I didn’t become fluent in American Sign Language until I got called on an ASL mission.
  3. I absolutely love to go backpacking even though I haven’t been out since my mission.
  4. I don’t have much of a sweet tooth. I love salty foods though.
  5. I absolutely love movies. I have committed to memory almost the entire screenplay of “The Burbs”, “City Slickers”, “Dumb and Dumber”, and other assorted classic films.
  6. I really enjoy playing soccer, basketball and football. I think baseball is boring to play because I can’t hit a pitch thrown by anyone over the age of 9.
  7. If I ever can afford to have my own huge house built, I want the architects and contractors to build in secret passages and not tell me where they are so I can randomly find a new one when I lean against a curiously placed candlestick holder.
  8. I think Judas Iscariot gets a bad rap.
  9. I live for awkward social moments. There is nothing funnier.
  10. I have run a full (26.2 mile) marathon and two half marathons. I regularly run between 6-10 miles per week and have a goal to regularly run 40 miles per week.
  11. I believe that Arby’s was created to remind us that the good Lord giveth;
  12. and that McDonald’s was created to remind us that the good Lord taketh away.
  13. Because I was a missionary cut off from the media during September 11th, 2001 – I have very little connection to the events of that day. They are as remote to me as Pearl Harbor or D-day.
  14. Despite all attempts to convince me otherwise, I think Angelina Jolie is incredibly unattractive. The Jessica’s are all much better (Simpson, Alba, and Biel)
  15. I’ve read all of “The Babysitters Club” books as well as all of the “Sweet Valley High” books. This is thanks to me being a vociferous reader and having an older sister.
  16. I used to have a videotape full of Baseball Highlights and Bloopers that I would watch over and over and over again. I can do a perfect impression of one of the announcers saying: “I have never in my life seen a catcher block home plate like Mike Scioscia”.
  17. I am a very good speller. I took second place in my fourth grade spelling bee. I lost mostly because I was too lazy to study for it.
  18. I was the announcer for the UVSC Wolverine basketball team when I went to school there. I used a really cheesy, affected, over-the-top voice.
  19. I shaved my head because my sister is going through Chemotherapy. I was relieved to find out my head is not lumpy and misshapen.
  20. I’ve been skydiving. It was incredible.
  21. I am very slowly writing two books. One is called Just Care Less and is a sort of humorous self-help book. The other is a fantasy trilogy which will probably end up being pretty lame because I can’t keep my plot focused.
  22. Until a few years ago I would reach into the bathroom and turn on the light at night so that I wouldn’t accidentally see Bloody Mary in the mirror.
  23. A mountain lion charged me once and only turned away because some of the other boy scouts walked into the meadow just before he pounced on me.
  24. My wife is a superior cook with a recipe but I am better when it comes to improvising.
  25. I won best actor in a Minor role for my rendition of Salesman #2 in my High School’s performance of “The Music Man”

Wow, that’s kind of hard to do.

3 comments

  1. Oh man, I don’t even know where to start. I love these lame kind of lists – you learn so much you didn’t need to know! Ditto to # 7 and 14… And I can’t believe you read all the babysitter club books and sweet valley high! hahahaha. dude- you seriously just keep getting cooler and cooler. i read all those too. And the bloody Mary thing!! ohmygosh, me too! I still get freaked out everytime I walk into an elementary school bathroom. They should really ban that sort of crap. I think it scarred me for life.


  2. I do have to agree that Ryan is a better cook when it comes to improvising. And for those who are wondering, he does actually cook about half of the meals, I love it.


  3. I want to do this now. I read Cristinas first though… I will do this and post it up on the Dysfunctional site.



Leave a Reply

