h1

Smiles and Laughter

December 17, 2007

Sariah started giving us some pretty decent smiles recently (by recently, I mean 4 weeks or so ago, which in baby terms isn’t recently at all. In fact, it’s about 1/3 of her life ago. If you extrapolated my creative “definition” of recently and applied it to my life, that would be 9 years ago. Which was about halfway through my senior year in High School. This was the year I maxed out on coolness — going skydiving and to midnight drag races and such. Ever since then it has been a downhill spiral into complete loser-ish-ness.

Geez I’ve really marched off onto a completely irrelevant tangent here. I don’t even know what I was talking about. I gotta go back and check…Oh yeah…)

She has quickly gotten very liberal with her smiles and we can pretty much get a grin out of her whenever we want. A couple of our primary methods:

  1. Tickling her cheeks
  2. Whistling to her
  3. Placing fish hooks inside the corners of her mouth and tugging upwards

Okay, we don’t actually do number 3 on the list. In fact, it was kind of wrong for me to even suggest it. I would erase it but I’ve already published this post so there is nothing I can do now.

I love teasing smiles out of her, she’s beyond cute. Which is good for her because she has no way of earning any measurable income (aside from a decent tax-break). From a fiscal perspective, there is very little reason to keep her around. The cute smiles and tax exemption are pretty much the only thing she has going for her on the balance sheet.

Aside from the our standard methods, we have a couple alternative ways of getting a little baby grin. I turn on the Itunes, put her in her swinger/rocker and Cristina and I completely rock out around her. Generally she just stares at her “different” parents. After a minute or so she gets into it and her face lights up with that little smile.

Personally I think I am a rather phenomenal dancer. Sort of a cross between Usher and that cat from the Paula Abdul video “Opposites Attract”

Yeah, that good.

2 comments

  1. Ha! Thanks for the blast from the past and the hilarious mental picture I have going on right now of you and Christina doing the running man in your living room… The things we do to make our kids happy.


  2. I had to laugh at the mental picture also. I was more laughing at the thought of Ryan doing and opposites attract move. So FUNNY!



Leave a Reply

