h1

Stage Name: Sariah Lena

June 8, 2008

Author: Cristina

So as most of you have probably already read, I got this crazy idea to submit Sariah’s pictures to a modeling agency.  I think the main motivation behind this was to have a total qualified stranger validate my feelings that Sariah is super cute.  So it is confirmed, she is super cute. The agency that signed Sariah is called JetSet, her agent is named Paloma, and so far we really like them.

Tuesday afternoon she had her first professional photoshoot, here is the story as best I can recall it.  The shoot was for Infantino, a local SD company that sells infant toys and carriers.  I picked Sariah up from the house at 1:40 and we headed down to San Diego.  Her call time was 2:30 so I drove a little faster than I should have to get her to the shoot on time.  We arrived at the photographer’s with 2 minutes to spare, which didn’t really matter all that much since the shoot was runing behind.  The photography assistant gave me a white shirt and jeans to change Sariah into and we waited for the model to finish with the group before us.  I guess I should explain that the shoot consisted of 4 adult models and about 10 infants that were going to be in front pack carriers (similar to Bjorn).  The photos were being taken outside so when the adult model, a super skinny girl who I am sure has never had nor will ever have kids, came inside we knew it was Sariah’s time to shine.  We put Sariah in the carrier and she did great, no fussing about anything.  She was such a happy baby the whole time we were there.  Then we went outside to take the photos.  Sariah did a good job at looking at the camera the whole time, but we were a little far away so it was harder to get her to smile.  I was acting like a complete fool; jumping up and down, shaking her toys, talking in silly voices.  At one point the photographer looked at me and said “well at least you get an A for effort”.  I am not exactly sure how long we were taking pictures for, probably about 15-20 min or so, when the photographer said he had the shot he was looking for and that Sariah was all done.  We went back inside and returned the clothes to the assistant.  We said goodbye and were on our way home.  So all total we were there for about an hour and actually did stuff for about 15min.  Everything was really fun and I think Sariah had a good time, I am sure we will do it again if the agent finds us more work.

So you maybe asking yourself “what is with the title of this post?”.  Well, a funny thing happened when I got home and checked my email.  The agent (Paloma) had sent me an email and told me that she already represented a Sariah Moore.  Can you believe that?  What are the odds that she would represent another infant with the same name.  She is a totally cute 16 month old African American girl.  So Paloma asked if it would be okay if we gave Sariah the stage name “Sariah Lena”.  I of course said yes, I think my Grandmother would be proud to hear that Sariah used her name (Sariah’s middle name) as her stage name.  So there is the story about how my 8 month old cutie already has a stage name. 

5 comments

  1. You wouldn’t take my word for it that Sariah is so cute. I get it…apparently you need the opinion of a complete stranger than a good friend. See if I give MY opinion again. J/k—cool little experience…nice way to make money too:)


  2. That’s pretty awesome! That is one good way to pay your kid’s college tuition… Make them earn it themselves!


  3. That’s right, we are making Sariah earn her own way. No free rides here.


  4. as it should be.


  5. That is so fun.



Leave a Reply

