h1

Because I care about our schools…

September 20, 2008

Temecula Valley, CA… home to endless rolling vineyards laden with drooping bunches of aromatic grapes. Home to a majestic summer parade of multi-colored hot air balloons silently drifting across the fiery sunset sky. Home to rowdy Marines drunkenly whooping it up in a pair of grotesquely tight wrangler jeans and prancing around the country western bar dance floor in imitation leather pointy-toed boots.

Hey, it ain’t all gumdrops and loliipops around here.

Anyway, Temecula is my hometown. My daughter was born here and will probably spend a large majority of her young life here. This means that she will walk and talk, play and pray, eat and… greet… here in this town, under the influence of our community leaders.

And who are those leaders? Well, I pretty much have no idea. In fact, until late this afternoon, I could not have named a single civic leader for the City of Temecula. It’s not that I don’t care, it’s just that I… well… I… guess I just don’t care.

Huh… that’s odd — I could have sworn that politics interested me. I mean, I follow national politics pretty closely. I even follow politics at a state level. Yet the names of the leaders of my own hometown have eluded me. Well, all that is going to change, starting now. I now know the name of one candidate for the Temecula Valley School Board (although, to be honest, I’m not sure if he is actually running for, like, President of the school board or if he is just trying to be a member of the board. It’s a minute detail that we can all hash out later on, after the election or something.) That name, by the way, is Allen Pulsipher and I endorse him for whatever it is he is running for.

Now you may think that is a rather silly endorsement. Perhaps you fancy that a person making an endorsement ought to know exactly what they are endorsing. Well, you’re wrong. Let’s be honest here, local government is not exactly akin to piecing together a unified string theory that can resolve the deepest mysteries of quantum physics. Knowing what know about small-time politics, I can pretty confidently endorse Allen Pulsipher whom I know to excel at pretty much every endeavor he seeks to endeavor upon… endeavorishly….and so forth… The guy is an Oral and maxillofacial surgeon for pete’s sake. I mean, can you even pronounce Oral and maxillilililiofacial surgery correctly? (The answer is: No. You can’t). Someone who practices a disclipine that can’t even be pronounced has credential enough for me.  

In all seriousness, I know Allen and he’s a good guy, with a lot of brains, a lot of integrity and a lot of experience (which suddenly seems to be all the rage in the presidential elections) 

And now, if I may close with a little joke we have here in Temecula… Do you know the difference between a pit bull and an Oral and maxillofacial surgery? The pitbull doesn’t charge a co-pay.

Thank you!

To learn more about Allen’s plan for our schools, visit his website at www.allenpulsipher.com… and then vote for him on November 4th.

Leave a Reply

